Kerrville, Texas - The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor men's golf team was able to pull away in the final round and the Cru coasted to a 20-stroke victory at the American Southwest Conference Championship Tournament Wednesday in Kerrville. This is the seventh ASC title for the UMHB men's golf program.

The Cru fired a record-breaking team total of 276-283-285=844 to roll to the title. The 844 tops the previous UMHB and ASC Championship 54-hole record score of 850 by six strokes. U.T. Tyler finished a distant second with a 292-279-293=864. Concordia Texas claimed third place with a 292-296-287=875, Hardin-Simmons posted a 306-298-312=916 for fourth place and U.T. Dallas rounded out the top five at 312-297-308=917. LeTourneau University finished sixth with a 300-306-314=920, Howard Payne took seventh place after shooting 317-305-320=942 and Louisiana College rounded out the eight-team field with a 376-365-385=1,126.

"We are thrilled to win a conference championship today. This group of young men has worked so hard to achieve this," UMHB Head Coach Jordan Cox said. "To continue the legacy of the coaches before me is an honor indeed. We are blessed to have so much support from our institution and administration, including Dr. Randy O'Rear, Dr. Steve Theodore and Randy Mann. It is an honor to represent UMHB."

UMHB's Mats Heien won individual medalist honors by carding a 64-69-68=201 to finish at 15 under par for the tournament. His 201 score sets a new UMHB 54-hole record, breaking the previous mark of 207 set by Stayton Lindeman in 2015. Heien's -15 also sets a new UMHB and ASC record for lowest 54-hole score in relation to par. He beat U.T. Tyler's George Toone by eight shots to take the individual crown. Alden Fortner took third place after firing a 72-69-71=212 for the Cru. Jarrod Brown tied for ninth place after shooting 72-74-72=218. Kyle Revis shot 75-71-74=220 for UMHB to finish 11th and Mason Wyatt shot 68-80-77=225 to tie for 16th place.

"Mats game this week was special and you could get that feeling from his record-setting opening round," Cox said. "It was a tremendous performance by a young man that has grown in so many ways this year."

Heien and Fortner earned ASC All-Conference First Team honors for finishing in the top five. Heien's ASC individual title is the fifth for a UMHB men's golfer, joining Robby Schimmels (2014), Eric White (2008 and 2009) and Bradley Bean (2001). Brown was named to the ASC All-Conference Second Team and was also voted ASC Men's Golf Co-Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year. Cox takes ASC Men's Golf Coach of the Year honors for the first time at UMHB following the Cru's victory.

The two-day, 54-hole event was played on a par-72, 7,059-yard layout at Comanche Trace Golf Course in Kerrville. Teams will tee off for Wednesday's final round with an 8:00 AM shotgun start. UMHB also clinches the ASC's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III National Championships with the conference championship. The 2017 NCAA Division III Men's Golf National Championship will be play May 16-19 at Mission Inn Resort and Club in Howey-In-The-Hills, Florida.