© 2018 Associated Press
Texas officially bans texting and driving
Texas became the 46th state to ban texting and driving Tuesday. KCEN's Emani Payne spoke with a Killeen resident about the new state law.
Associated Press , KCEN 10:13 PM. CDT June 06, 2017
Gov. Greg Abbott announced Tuesday that he's signed the ban into law, ending a decade-long effort by safety advocates to reduce potentially deadly driver distractions on the road.
Texas will join at least 47 other states that have similar laws when the ban takes effect Sept. 1. Texting would be punishable by a fine of up to $99 for first-time offenders and $200 for repeat offenses. The ban covers texting only, not other Internet use such as map applications.
The ban comes after a March church bus crash killed 13 people. Federal investigators have said the driver of a pickup truck that hit the bus said he was checking for a text when the crash happened and had taken prescription drugs.
- Jan 20, 2018, 12:24 p.m.
- Jan 20, 2018, 12:58 p.m.
- Jan 20, 2018, 5:30 p.m.