Baylor Paces Big 12 in Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Awards

IRVING, Texas - Sixty-four Big 12 student-athletes are recipients of the fourth annual Dr. Gerald Lage award, the Conference's highest academic honor. Baylor paced all Big 12 institutions with 16 honorees.

The honor is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

Lage had been a member of the Oklahoma State family since 1966, when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor. During his tenure at OSU, he served as the director of graduate studies in the department of economics (1974-77), head of the department of economics and finance (1978-84), director of the OSU Center for International Trade and Development (1985-87), and associate dean for research and graduate programs in the college of business administration (1997-2004).

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.


Name,                                 Class     Sport                                   Major                                                              

Doug Ashby,                      Sr.          Baseball                              Mechanical Engineering

Nicole Bardaji                   Jr.           Volleyball                          Health Science Studies/Pre-Physical Therapy

Whitney Canion                Sr.          Softball                                              Grad School - Sports Management

Sarah Crockett                   Jr.           Softball                                              International Studies

Tara Funk                           Sr.          Equestrian                          Business Fellows

Nate Goodwin                    Sr.          Baseball                              Biology - Pre-Health

Jennifer Gueldner             Sr.          Track and Field                 Environmental Science

Taylor Heatherly                              Sr.          Soccer                                 Secondary English Language Arts Reading

Michelle Kloss                  Jr.           Soccer                                 Health Science Studies/Pre-Physical Therapy

Logan Lowery                    Sr.          Basketball                          Finance

Becca Luedeker                 Sr.          Track and Field                 Health Science Studies/Pre-Med

Liz Paul                               Sr.          Softball                                              Accounting

Ginger Plemmons              Sr.          Acrobatics & Tumbling    Speech Pathology

Kaylin Terry                      Sr.          Golf                                     Marketing

Taylor Torres                     Sr.          Track and Field                 Mechanical Engineering

Alexa Wilde                       Jr.           Soccer                                 Biomedical Engineering



To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment