Evans named Biletnikoff Award semifinalist

TALLAHASEE, Fla. --- Texas A&M sophomore wide receiver Mike Evans was named one of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which is given annually to the nation's top receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

Evans, from Galveston, Texas, has been one of the nation's most dominant wide receivers throughout the 2013 season. Through 10 games, Evans has grabbed a team-best 57 catches for 1,263 yards and 12 touchdowns. His receiving yards and touchdowns are already school records, and he leads the SEC in both statistical categories. In the NCAA statistical rankings, Evans ranks No. 2 in receiving yards and No. 4 in receiving touchdowns.

A big-play receiver, Evans leads the FBS in 30-yard catches (16) and 40-yard catches (8). A big-game receiver, Evans has produced a FBS-best 612 receiving yards, five touchdowns and 204.0 yards per game in three games against opponents currently ranked in the Associated Press Top 25. He broke the A&M single game receiving yards record with 279 yards against top-ranked Alabama and then re-broke the mark with 287 yards against Auburn (then No. 24, now No. 6 in AP poll).

Semifinalists for the 2013 Biletnikoff Award  (listed in alphabetical order)   

Davante Adams, Fresno State, SO
Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, JR
Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU, JR
Brandin Cooks, Oregon State, JR
Mike Evans, Texas A&M, SO
Antwan Goodley, Baylor, JR
Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt, SR
Allen Robinson, Penn State, JR
Willie Snead, Ball State, JR
Sammy Watkins, Clemson, JR

Fans may now help determine which three receivers will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at: www.biletnikoffaward.com. Fan voting will close on November 24th. 

The top 3 aggregate fan votes for receiver will each count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote for each of those three receivers for finalists. Following the finalists' selection, the subsequent top single aggregate  fan vote for receiver will count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote for winner.

The three Finalists will be announced on Monday, November 25th. The Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced live on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 12, 2013.

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 215 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. The fan vote counts as one additional vote. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, 2013, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 6:00 to  8:00 p.m. (CT) on ESPN. 


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment