Lady Bears Host Western Kentucky in NCAA First-Round Action

WACO, Texas - Baylor's women's basketball team earned its third overall No. 2 seed and will play 15th-seeded Western Kentucky (24-8) on Saturday, March 22, at the Ferrell Center in Waco, Texas, the NCAA announced Monday night. Joining Baylor and Western Kentucky in first-round action in Waco are seventh-seeded California (21-9) and Fordham (25-7), a No. 10 seed.

The California/Fordham game will tip at 3:00 p.m. (CT), while the Baylor/Western Kentucky contest will begin 30 minutes after the conclusion of the first game (approximately 5:30). Both games will be televised on ESPN2 with Pam Ward (play-by-play) and Carolyn Peck (analyst) on the call.

Baylor is 29-4 on the season and ranked No. 6 in the final AP Poll. The Lady Bears will be appearing in the NCAA Tournament for the 11th straight year and 13th time in the last 14 years. Western Kentucky will be making its 17th overall NCAA Tournament appearance but first since 2007-08. The Lady Toppers, under second-year head coach Michelle Clark-Heard,  won the Sun Belt Conference Tournament and earned the league's automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. They enter the contest on a 10-game win streak.

Fordham is making its second NCAA Tournament appearance, its last bid was in 1994. Head coach Stephanie Gaitley's Rams earned an automatic bid after winning the Atlantic 10 Tournament. California earned its 10th overall NCAA appearance after finishing second in the Pac-12 for the third straight season. The Bears, a 2013 Final Four team under head coach Lindsay Gottleib, won seven of their last eight regular season games to earn an at-large bid.

Baylor is 30-10 all-time in NCAA Tournament play, all coming under head coach Kim Mulkey. Baylor has won its first-round game in each of the last 11 NCAA trips. Baylor is 30-10 in NCAA Championship play and has two national crowns (2005, 2012) to its credit.

First-round winners will face off in second round action on Monday, March 24, at 8:00 p.m. (CT), and the winner of that game will advance to the Notre Dame (Ind.) Regional to play either Kentucky, Syracuse, Chattanooga or Wright State on Saturday, March 29, at the Joyce Center.

The 2014 Women's Final Four will be played April 6 and 8 at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

All-session tickets are $45 for adult reserved seats and $30 for youth; which includes a ticket for both sessions, a total of three games. Single session tickets are $25 for adults and $15 for youth. Every person, regardless of age, must have a ticket to enter the facility.


For more information, please contact the Baylor Ticket Office at 254-710-1000, order online at or purchase at the Baylor Athletic Ticket office at the Ferrell Center.


NCAA Tournament Appearances

2001 - 0-1, lost to Arkansas, first round (Durham, N.C.)

2002 - 1-1, lost to Drake, second round (Waco, Texas)

2004 - 2-1, lost to Tennessee, Sweet 16 (Norman, Okla.)

2005 - 6-0, NCAA Champion (Indianapolis)

2006 - 2-1, lost to Maryland (NCAA champion), Sweet 16 (Albuquerque, N.M.)

2007 - 1-1, lost to North Carolina State, second round (Raleigh, N.C.)

2008 - 1-1, lost to Pittsburgh, second round (Albuquerque, N.M.)

2009 - 2-1, lost to Louisville (NCAA runner-up), Sweet 16 (Raleigh, N.C.)

2010 - 4-1, lost to UConn (NCAA champion), Final Four Semifinals

2011 - 3-1, lost to Texas A&M (NCAA champion), Elite Eight

2012 - 6-0, NCAA Champion (Denver)

2013 - 2-1, lost to Louisville, Sweet 16 (Oklahoma City)


NCAA Tournament Seeds - Sites

2001 - No. 8 - Durham, N.C.

2002 - No. 2 - Waco, Texas

2004 - No. 4 - Albuquerque, N.M.; Norman, Okla.

2005 - No. 2 - Seattle, Wash.; Tempe, Ariz.; Indianapolis

2006 - No. 3 - Tucson, Ariz., Albuquerque, N.M.

2007 - No. 5 - Raleigh, N.C.

2008 - No. 3 - Albuquerque, N.M.

2009 - No. 3 - Lubbock, Texas; Raleigh, N.C.

2010 - No. 4 - Berkeley, Calif.; Memphis, Tenn.; San Antonio

2011 - No. 1 - Waco, Texas, Dallas

2012 - No. 1 - Bowling Green, Ohio; Des Moines, Iowa; Denver

2013 - No. 1 - Waco, Texas; Oklahoma City

2014 - No. 2 - Waco, Texas; Notre Dame, Ind.


NCAA Tournament By Seed

No. 1 - three times (2011, ‘12, ‘13)

No. 2 - three times (2002, ‘05, ‘14)

No. 3 - three times (2006, ‘08, ‘09)

No. 4 - twice (2004, ‘10)

No. 5 - once (2007)

No. 8 - once (2001)



To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment