Manziel named 2013 Davey O'Brien Award semifinalist

FORT WORTH, Texas --- Defending Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award winner Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M highlighted the list of 16 semifinalists for the 2013 award announced by the Davey O'Brien Foundation on Monday. 

Narrowed down from the starting quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools, semifinalists were selected by the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Manziel, a sophomore from Kerrville, Texas, leads the Southeastern Conference in passing yards, passing efficiency, passing touchdowns, total offense and touchdown responsibility as he seeks to surpass his electrifying freshman season that saw him win the O'Brien Award, the Heisman Trophy and the Manning Award and be named the Associated Press College Player of the Year.

Manziel is seeking to become the fourth two-time winner of the Davey O'Brien Award, which has been won twice by Ty Detmer of BYU (1990, 1991), Danny Wuerffel of Florida (1995, 1996) and Jason White of Oklahoma (2003, 2004)

Manziel is generating 381.2 yards of total offense per game, including 318.6 passing yards and 62.7 rushing yards, and he has passed or rushed for 34 touchdowns. Manziel is completing over 70 percent of his pass attempts while throwing for 2,867 yards and 26 touchdowns. Also the team's top rusher, Manziel has gained 564 yards and eight scores on 96 carries.

The SEC leads the way with five quarterbacks among the semifinalists. The SEC signal callers joining Manziel on the elite list are A.J. McCarron of Alabama, Zach Mettenberger of LSU, Aaron Murray of Georgia and Conner Shaw of South Carolina.

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 24.

The three Davey O'Brien finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 25 and the 2013 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Thursday, Dec. 12 on ESPN. The 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb.17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.


2013 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists

Blake Bortles, UCF, AAC

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC

Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC

Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC

Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Pac-12

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC

Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12

A.J. McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Zach Mettenberger, LSU, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Bryce Petty, Baylor, Big 12

Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

Jameis Winston, Florida State, ACC



To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment