UMHB football places seven on All-South Region Te - - KCEN HD - Waco, Temple, and Killeen

UMHB football places seven on All-South Region Team

Posted: Updated:

Belton, Texas – The Mary Hardin-Baylor football team placed seven players on the All-South Region Team released on Monday. UMHB's Silvio Diaz was also voted South Region Defensive Player of the Year and Cru head coach Pete Fredenburg claimed South Region Coach of the Year honors.

Diaz was voted South Region Defensive Player of the Year and also earned a spot on the All-Region First Team. The senior defensive tackle from Leander High School gas set a new school single-season record with 11.0 sacks this season. He also has 14.0 tackles for loss, three forced fumbles and 50 total tackles on the year. Diaz is the fifth UMHB player to win South Region Defensive Player of the Year and the Cru has taken that award in three consecutive seasons.

Diaz is joined on the South Region First Team Defense by three of his teammates. Korey Steward was voted to the First Team at defensive end. The senior from Fort Worth Southwest High School, has 37 total tackles, 12.5 tackles for loss and 5.5 sacks on the year. Cornerback Brodrick Crain and free safety Cody Jones were both voted to the First Team secondary. Crain, a senior from Belton High School, has five interceptions and 20 pass break-ups on the season. He also has 76 total tackles and 9.5 tackles for loss. Jones, a senior from Hughes Springs High School, has a team-best seven interceptions to go with 71 tackles and 12 pass break-ups.

Offensive guard Josh Holt is the lone Cru player voted to the South Region First Team Offense. Holt, a senior from Lorena High School, has helped clear the way for a UMHB offense that is averaging 274.9 rushing yards and 477.5 yards of total offense per game.

Offensive tackle Montana Duncan and punter Chad Peevey were both voted to the All-South Region Second Team. Duncan, a senior from Mineola High School, joins Holt on a powerful offensive front line for the Cru. Peevey, a senior from Bryan St. Joseph High School, is averaging 42.8 yards per punt and has 13 kicks of 50 or more yards. He has also put 18 of his boots inside the opponent's 20-yard line. Peevey is 3-5 on field goals and 13-13 on extra points and also handles kickoff duties for the Cru.

Fredenburg has led the Cru to a 13-0 overall record and a second straight berth in the NCAA Division III National Championships. UMHB won its 11th American Southwest Conference Championship this season and is in the NCAA postseason for the 12th time in the program's 16-year history. This is the first South Region Coach of the Year honor for Fredenburg.

The All-South Region Teams are selected in balloting of South Region sports information directors and staff members. A total of 257 players were nominated for the All-South Region Teams.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KCEN, Owned and Operated by London Broadcasting Company. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.