Breaking News
More () »

First female commissioner sworn in to McLennan County seat

Democrat Patricia Chisolm-Miller will succeed her mentor, Lester Gibson, as McLennan County's Precinct Two Commissioner seat. Miller received 6,016 votes, while Republican Donnis DL Wilson got 4,573.

WACO, Texas — Democrat Patricia Chisolm-Miller was sworn in as McLennan County’s Precinct 2 Commissioner Tuesday after beating Republican Donis DL Wilson in November.

Chisolm-Miller received 57 percent of the votes to win the seat.

She is the first woman elected to the McLennan County Commissioners Court.

Chisolm-Miller worked under Commissioner Lester Gibson for 22 years.

After her swearing-in, Chisolm-Miller said she is "excited to hit the ground running." She said she has a plan and vision to fix the roads in rural east McLennan County.

“I really want to accomplish setting up roads in rural McLennan County that last in Precinct 4, which is built on rock. We’re built on sand and clay, but I know we can do some studies and find some remedies for that base failure,” Chisolm-Miller said.

Chisolm-Miller said she is humbled by being elected and she is focused to "make big things happen as 2019 gets started."

Make it easy to keep up-to-date with more stories like this. Download the KCENTV app now on Android or iPhone!

Have a news tip? Email news@kcentv.com, or visit our Facebook or Twitter pages.

Before You Leave, Check This Out