Breaking News
More () »

China Spring wins second consecutive state championship

The Cougars trailed 21-0 in the second quarter and didn't lead it until the final play.

ARLINGTON, Texas — It took all 48 minutes, but China Spring has gone back-to-back.

The Cougars beat Boerne, 24-21, in the UIL Class 4A Div. I state championship game at AT&T Stadium in Arlington on Friday.

Boerne took a 21-0 lead with 9:37 to play in the second quarter and the Cougars didn't score until five minutes later, going in to the half down 21-7.

The Cougars shut Boerne out in the second half, 17-0, with Thomas Barr nailing a 20-yard field goal to win it as time expired. It was China Spring's only lead in the game.

The Cougars finish 14-1, with the lone loss coming in non-district to TAPPS state champion Dallas Parish Episcopal.

China Spring has now won three state football championships, this one coming in Tyler Beatty's first season as head coach.

Before You Leave, Check This Out