Waco-native coach of McLennan Community College's men's basketball team, Kevin Gill, has been named a coach of the year.

Monday, the North Texas Junior College Athletic Conference announced their 2017-18 season honors.

Gill was named Men's Co-Coach of the Year with Collin County's Jim Sigona.

The Highlanders split the season series with Collin County, with both teams winning at home.

MCC sophomore Jashawn Talton was named conference player of the year and Xaiver Armstead, a Midway High School graduate, was named conference newcomer of the year.

In addition, All-Conference team were announced.

Armstead was named to the first team along with teammates Talton and Javen Hedgeman. Temple College's Kaelin Jackson and J.R. Adams were also named to the first team with John Mouton being named to the second team for the Leopards.

Daniel Pinho-Severo and Dayante McClellan of MCC and Temple's Terreon Randolph and Sebastian Karwoski received honorable mention.

In women's basketball, MCC's Jaylonn Walker were named All-Conference along with Temple College's Kristen Nelson. MCC's Keekee Nowlin and Temple's Alena Johnston and Jamiea Miller received honorable mention.

Both men's programs will play in this week's NJCAA Region V Tournament in Lubbock. MCC has the NTJCAC's 1-seed and will play the Western Conference 4-seed, Clarendon at 1 p.m. Wednesday. Four-seed Temple will play the Western Conference's 1-seed, Odessa College at 8 p.m. Wednesday.